Nigeria’s Jayjay Okocha wins Legend Award as CAF honours African footballers

The Confederation of African Football (CAF)  yesterday held its annual Gala awards yesterday at the Banquet hall,state house in Accra.
The event featured Ghana’s Vice President- John Dramani Mahama, CAF president Issa Hayatoo, creme de la creme in Africa as well as in Africa footbball.
Amidst fanfare and musical performances by the likes of Kwabene Kwabena and Efya (both from Ghana),the following people were awarded the best in their fields in football as a result of their hard work and dedication over the year.

Winners of CAF AWARD 2011

Africa Footballer of the Year –  Yaya  Toure (Manchester United and Cote d’ ivore).

Africa Footballer of the Year (based on the continent) – Tunisia Mid-fielder, Oussama Darragi

Woman Footballer of the Year – Nwokocha Perpetua ( Nigeria)

Promising Player of the Year – Souleymane Coulibaly ( Tottenham Hotspurs and Ivory Coast).

Referee of the Year – Noumandiez Doue ( Ivory coast)

Coach of the Year – Harouna Doula ( Niger)

Club of the Year – Esperance Sportive de Tunis (Tunisia)

National Team of the Year – Botswana

Women National Team of the Year – Lioness of Cameroon.

Fair Play Award – Libya

Legend Award – Austin Okocha (Nigeria)
Mustapha Hadji (Morrocco)

Platinum Award – John Atta Mills

 Africa’s Finest 11:

Goal keeper: Samir Aboud (Libya)
Defenders: Taye Taiwo (Nigeria), Harrison Afful ( Ghana) , Banana Yaya (cameroon), Ayoub Elkhiqui (Morroco).
Forwards: Samuel Eto’o ( Cameroon), Moussa sow (Senegal).
Midfeilders: Andre Ayew(Ghana), Kevin Prince Boateng ( Ghana), Seydou Keita (Mali), Yaya Toure (cote d’ Ivore).

Congratulations winners!

Post Author: Busayo Sotunde

'Busayo is a young writer currently studying at the Nigerian Institute of Journalism. She enjoys writing Business analysis, Stock Market news update, and of course Book and Music Reviews.

One thought on “Nigeria’s Jayjay Okocha wins Legend Award as CAF honours African footballers


    (January 7, 2012 - 2:47 pm)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *